Introduction (a bit late).

Looking back on the way I’ve done this blog so far, I realized that I missed some very key things — like introducing myself!

Now, for the moment, my readers (that I’m aware of) know me fairly well. But I feel like there are a few things that I should probably get out into the open before I continue with this blog, as many of my posts may be affected by some of the things I deal with on a daily basis.

Let’s start with the basics:

I was born and raised in north-central New Jersey. I now primarily reside in central Pennsylvania, where I go to school. I plan to move back to New Jersey after I graduate (this coming December!!!).

I’m an English major. While my technical concentration is writing, I have taken enough literature classes that I can say I am also pursuing a concentration in literature.

So where do I want to take this degree in the future?

Since I don’t have any absolutely brilliant ideas for novels (yet), I am not going to try to build a career off of writing books. Ideally, I’d love to write a book someday, but that will probably never be my sole source of income. What I would love to do with my life is go into editing/publishing. Luckily, thanks to the long line of writers in my family, I actually have some connections in the industry… so we’ll see where that goes.

For the moment, the plan after graduation is to move home, work (at  my hometown diner where I’ve been working since I was fifteen and at the small-town newspaper my mom owns), and save up a bit of money. I’m still going back and forth with the idea of grad school — there are so many pros and cons. But I have a list of some schools I’d like to apply to… most within commuting range of my hometown so I can continue to live at home, work, and save money while I’m in graduate school.

Next: the heavier stuff.

Everyone has good days and bad days. My days fluctuate based on the smallest things. Two years ago, I was diagnosed with a less-severe form of depression called dysthymia. I don’t have the major ups and downs that many people with depression have; I have minor ups and downs. I do not suffer from this depression, I battle it. And lately, it hasn’t had as much of a hold on my life as it used to — I think identifying it has helped a lot.

Around the same time, I was also diagnosed with a minor anxiety disorder. Anxiety disorders run in my family, so that really came as no surprise. Those of you who know me will recognize the ways my anxiety manifests itself; most noticeably, I have time anxiety. I always have to be at least five minutes early to EVERYTHING. I also have time-pressure anxiety. If I’m under a deadline, I have to get things done at least the night before. I’m working on this one, especially, because I know it can affect my future career. I am also working on my anxieties because they cause me to lash out and be unnecessarily mean to those closest to me.

Everybody has their problems. Everyone has their issues. But it’s how we carry ourselves, in spite of these issues, that counts. It took me twenty years to recognize my disorders; I have spent the last two years attempting to work on them. I finally feel like I’m getting somewhere. I have a long way to go, but I have many people in my life who are helping me.

At this point, I’m not sure what else I need to say — there is so much that I haven’t covered, but I don’t want to be going on and on about myself for pages and pages. If you have anything you’d like to comment on or ask (I’m an open book!), feel free to comment or use the “ask away” button under my “about the writer” section.

I’m not sure who exactly is reading, but thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

