Back to why I hate the word “skinny”…

Now that my belly is full of awesome tortellini, I’m ready to continue my last post.

So why do I hate the word “skinny”?

Why does anyone hate any word? Because it causes a feeling of unpleasantness, brings up bad memories, etc.

But I’ve decided I hate the word “skinny” after seeing a friend’s Twitter post about “having to get skinny.”

No one should have to get skinny — how about getting healthy?

I know I will never, ever be skinny. I don’t think my body is physically capable of being skinny. No matter how healthy I eat and how much I exercise, I will probably always fall around the size 6-8 range.

I AM OKAY WITH THAT.

But everything I see in society implies that women need to be skinny. And if they’re not, they need to work at it.

I read a post on HelloGiggles today that dealt with the pressure for celebrity moms to lose weight. “Post-baby bodies” grace the covers of so many magazines. Bryce Dallas Howard, an absolutely stunning woman and phenomenal actress, was essentially told to starve herself when she retained the baby weight. Women are looked at differently if they don’t fall back down to their pre-baby weight soon after they give birth. Shouldn’t the priority be the mom taking care of the baby? When I have kids someday, I’m not going to care what I weigh — I’m going to care about being healthy and taking care of my kids.

But while I’m waiting for that point in my life, I now find myself looking at what society expects of me, a 22 year old woman. I’m in school and work two jobs during the semesters. Back home, I also have two jobs. I am not married, but I am in a committed relationship. I’d like to say I’m pretty successful. However, I am not an average weight; I am above average for my height. But why should that take away from my successes? It doesn’t. I won’t let it.

A while back, I saw a photo that says “Nothing tastes as good as skinny feels.” Uh, I can give you a list of lots of things that taste so much better than skinny feels … Pocky, for one, is one of my biggest weaknesses. 🙂

I don’t think “skinny” even needs to be something people strive for. I think everyone should just strive to be healthy. Do what’s best for yourself, but please don’t hurt yourself or hinder yourself to do so.

Unfortunately I have to use the word “skinny” often; my favorite coffee from Starbucks is a Skinny Vanilla Latte. No, I don’t drink it because of the low-everything nonsense… I drink it because regular milk hurts my stomach and the milk they use in the Skinny doesn’t. But none of this means that I have to enjoy the word.

Readers, take care of yourselves — you all have so much potential, and your weight has nothing to do with it. Do something that makes you happy without being self-conscious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

