My mother’s writing prompt (or “Why today was great”).

So yesterday I mentioned that my mom gave me an idea for a post… I have a few running through my mind, but hers seemed like a good idea, especially after a great day like today.

My mom pointed out that a lot of my posts are rants — I knew that, though; it’s done that way on purpose. That’s why I started this blog, to rant about things that I was sick of ranting about on Facebook.

But she told me that I should take some time and write about something that makes me truly happy (besides my boyfriend — I think even she realizes that would be sickeningly adorable :)).

Today is the perfect day for that.

But it started yesterday.

My university has an orientation program for orientation. They added a new aspect to it that involves different clubs, organizations, and aspects of campus life (housing, banking, etc) sitting at tables in our lower dining hall and answering questions about what they can offer to the students. (The university also does a giant version of this in the fall called the Club Fair.) I volunteered two Saturdays to sit at the table and talk to students about University Players, our theater group on campus. We’ve gotten a bunch of awesome kids to be involved in the fall, so I’m looking forward to that.

Yesterday at orientation, one of my good friends (B) was working the table with me, and she decided she wanted to get involved in other clubs. She turned to the guy at the table next to us (J) and asked him what his club was. I know J somewhat well because he runs our downtown coffee shop. (Also, he is a fellow writer.)

J explained that he was talking to students about church group that often takes place in his coffee shop (but is now at a beautiful park in town because the weather is so nice). B jumped at the chance to get involved with a church group — her family is heavily Christian and, despite the fact that it can be very difficult in college, she still treasures her faith. I also jumped at the chance, because I have been trying (not actively) to find a church-ish group to get involved with for four years.

(Brief anecdote: for those of you who are not aware, I was very involved with our hometown Catholic church all through high school. While I kept my faith alive personally in college, I have not been actively going to church and missed the sense of community a LOT.)

So after talking to J a bit and finding out that the way they do church is very casual and fun, B and I decided we’d go.

This morning, we dragged our butts out of bed earlier than we wanted to and headed to the park. Man, am I glad we went.

First of all, it was a beautiful morning. Not too hot, not too chilly; just perfect. Plus, the view was absolutely spectacular. The park overlooks the river, and it was such a clear day. Just amazing. (I attempted to get a picture but it wasn’t that great… next time!)

Secondly, the casual, laid-back, yet beautiful church service was just what I needed. Everyone was incredibly welcoming and happy to see us. It’s hard to explain my feelings about everything that went on, but I felt comfortable, happy, and accepted. These are feelings I haven’t felt in a group in a very long time, so I was thrilled about that.

Also, there was coffee. And cookies. And dipping the cookies into the coffee was awesome. ๐Ÿ™‚

The sermon (not sure if that’s the right word) was all about the 10th commandment, “do not covet your neighbors wife (and other things)”. What I really loved about it was that it didn’t feel forceful at all, it felt very conversational. It was my first service with them, yes, but I know I’ll definitely be going back.

There were also a bunch of adorable babies. ๐Ÿ™‚

After chuch, B and I planned to make a poster for the University Players’ orientation table and for other U.P. events. We spent a good six hours or so creating this:

and had a lot of fun doing so. Our friend D came to join us (and fix B’s blinds as they’d all fallen down), and we all just sat around and talked as we worked. So fun.

Then I got back to my apartment and it was still light out. And gorgeous. So I knocked on K’s door and said “we’re going for a walk.” We walked for a while and talked, and then we went and sat by the mini-river (creek, I think) near our apartment and threw rocks until her boyfriend drove by and gave us a WTF look.

This is the mini-river:

There is so much beauty near our apartment but we hadn’t had the right weather to explore it until tonight.

We also found a dead possum. It’s entire skeleton was still intact, which was pretty cool.

AND we walked to wear this “road closed” was that we’ve been seeing for a while now. There is a BIG GAPING HOLE in the middle of the road. K said there used to be a bridge there but a storm destroyed it. So that was cool to see, too.

Right now I’m sitting in bed (on freshly washed sheets — the best) just thinking about how awesome this weekend was. I thought it would be kind of crappy because it’s one of the first weekends I haven’t seen F in a while… but it turned out to be pretty great. ๐Ÿ™‚ (And I’ll see him next weekend — I haven’t been to Lancaster in years, and I’ll probably get to see where he works!)

So there ya go, Momma; your oldest kid had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

