Me? Accepted to a literary journal?

Yes, folks; it’s true. I had a piece accepted to the Sigma Tau Delta Rectangle: Journal of Creative Writing. YAY!

I was inducted into ΣΤΔ in 2011. I was overjoyed to see that my piece was accepted, and when I posted a status about it on Facebook, people asked to see the piece.

It’s a little long, but here it is! I wrote the piece for my Advanced Topics in Creative Writing class and took the whole semester to polish it. Enjoy! 🙂

Glass Along the Shore

The beach is filled with more stones than sand, and if you look closely enough among the wet rocks of the ocean line, you’ll find tiny pieces of broken glass weathered down by the rhythmic pounding of the waves. Every year when we ventured up to Montauk, “The End” of Long Island, my mother would reward us with 25 cents for each piece we found, no matter how small. The tradition began with my great-grandmother and stretched down the familial line through my grandmother and my mother, eventually reaching my siblings and me. Our eyes became skilled in combing the water’s edge to find gleaming pieces of brown, blue, green, and sometimes even red pieces of sea glass. The pieces we found were pocketed carefully, and when we made it back to the top of the beach, we’d sift them into my mother’s hands. She’d take them home and fill up jars to make decorations for around the house. The jars are often set near windows, and when the sunlight dances across the pieces, the whole room sparkles.

One of the best things about sea glass is how different each piece truly is – not just in size and shape, but in what the glass originally was before it became entrapped in the ocean’s current. In our family, we have found entire bottoms and necks of bottles, still fairly round and often fully intact. Often times you can tell what the bottle held simply by examining the designs on them. Brand names and intricate pictures sometimes still stand out, even after months of being tossed around in the ocean. My mom has unearthed a marble, its once perfectly smooth surface eroded by the constant motion of the water, giving it a slightly murky appearance. She often tells stories of how when she was young, sea glass was mostly all brown, making it even harder to find because it was similar to the color of the sand along the ocean. Nowadays, with the appearances of new colors of glass, especially in liquor bottles, blues, greens, and even reds have started to become more and more common. Sometimes pieces of sea glass will even hold multiple colors, fading from brown to clear or sometimes blue to green. Once, a bit of purple between the brown and grey stones caught my eye. I assumed it was a piece of discarded plastic, but even pieces of trash need to be carefully studied just in case they are actually a hidden treasure. Sure enough, this purple gem was actually a piece of sea glass, smooth and marvelous. It stood out against my palm, gleaming under the glare of the sun, soaked from the salt water. I selfishly slipped this particular find into a separate pocket to keep for myself. My younger sister is a much more skilled glass hunter than I am, always finding the best and most beautiful pieces. But in that moment I couldn’t have been happier, as I’d found a beautiful and rare piece for myself. That day, the hunt was well worth it for me.

            Our family has gone sea glass hunting in places other than Montauk, too. One of the first times I can remember discovering sea glass is when I was about seven years old, in the Outer Banks, North Carolina. I thought that it was so boring, walking along the beach looking for the tiniest bits of color among the soft sand. I didn’t see the point. But as I got older and began to notice all of the beautiful decorations my mom made from the glass, I learned to appreciate the tradition so much more. I fell in love with sea glass, just like my mom and the older women in my family had.

Last summer, we went to California and discovered the illustrious Glass Beach in Fort Bragg. In the early 1900s residents of Fort Bragg and Mendocino would dump into the ocean all of their trash, including countless numbers of bottles. The piles of garbage would be removed once they washed up on the beach. But when the broken bottles got weathered down and washed up on shore, people in the area concluded that the sea glass was too beautiful to get rid of. As a result, the entire beach is filled with glass – mostly weathered, but some sharp pieces remain. As we trekked along Glass Beach, searching lost its novelty. There was no more combing the shore line; it was all right there in front of us. Instead of looking for glass among the stones, we looked for captivating glass among the common glass. One of the more interesting pieces I found was the entire top to a candle jar, still whole, murky and eroded just like the marble my mom discovered. We ended up mailing home thirty pounds of sea glass that summer. Don’t get me wrong – it was an incredible experience. We found an abundance of beautiful treasures. But it was nothing like sea glass hunting in Montauk.

There is something so special and serene about scanning the blend of sand and rocks, looking for colorful pieces that stand out. There were days when I was so intent on finding these beautiful treasures that I would drop to my knees in the sand along the water and scoop up piles of rocks and sand, sifting and searching until I would pull out something that was different – vibrant, eroded pieces of glass among the bland rocks. Triumphant cries of “I got one!” would erupt down the beach. The only things that changed from year to year were the pitches of our voices, going from childish and excited to older and victorious, and the depth of the beach itself. The beach fell victim to the merciless erosion from the water as it pushed up further and further year after year.

            Unfortunately, as Hurricane Irene moved up the east coast destroying nearly everything in her path, Montauk became a direct target. I woke up extremely early in my apartment nestled safely in the Allegheny Mountains far away from the storm, and turned on the news to watch the coast get ripped apart. The camera shot showed a beach literally crumbling, and my heart crumbled with it as I realized that they were showing Montauk. The reporter had to keep stepping back as the sand disappeared beneath where he stood. The already diminishing beaches and dunes were being swept away with the ocean’s current, flooding the town with a few feet of water. My mom always said that she loved storms, because it churned up all of the good pieces of glass from underneath the ocean’s floor. But this storm was different. This storm devastated Long Island, turning Montauk’s beaches into almost unrecognizable wastelands submerged under a mix of water from the ocean and the sky.

            I’ve heard the beaches are beginning to get restored. Upset residents and vacationers are working side by side to put their town back together. People are attempting to build the dunes back up and save the small town from further ocean damage. The beaches have been practically annihilated, but the people who love Montauk have been doing their best to restore the community to what was before Hurricane Irene blew through. My family is thinking of taking a trip up in the spring to continue the search for sea glass, but we aren’t sure how much we will be able to find, or even if we’ll be allowed on the beaches. It’s a heartbreaking concept that our favorite vacation spot is no longer how it used to be. However, that will never staunch our desire to search for the precious colorful pieces of weathered glass. As long as Montauk’s beaches are accessible, we will be there scouring the shore for our treasures.

Leave a Reply

