“25 Things You Don’t Have To Justify To Anyone” Recap.

My friend just posted this link to Facebook: http://thoughtcatalog.com/2013/25-things-you-dont-have-to-justify-to-anyone/

Oh goodness. This is so perfectly relevant. Here are some of my favorites:

1. Your job. Yes, even if you’re working something that other people condescendingly term “not a real job,” such as retail or service. If you have a job of any kind in this economy, you’ve already won.


This has been a big one ever since I graduated. Everyone constantly wants to know why I’m not “technically” employed. I’m sorry – I thought being on payroll at a local business was employed? So what if my mom is the boss? Much of my work is done with other higher-ups within the office, anyway.

9. Your body. The only person whom you need to talk to about with it is your doctor; everyone else can else can go kick rocks.


I know what my body looks like much better than you do. I also know what my body can or cannot handle. Let’s leave it at that.

10. Whether or not you want to go out on a weekend night, or ten weekend nights in a row. The amount of time you spend in a bar or at a club does not directly correlate with how cool or worthy a person you are.

13. How much you drink when you go out, or if you drink at all, or why you choose not to drink if you do.


These two were definitely a problem through my latter college years. I don’t like going to bars or clubs. I don’t like drinking. Majority of college students do, yes. But I do not. and I hated having to come up with excuses as to why I didn’t want to go out – did I really want to tell the world that drinking fuels my depression and anxiety? No. But I did it anyway. Because I felt that I had to justify it. I know better now.

25. Not knowing exactly what you want to be when you grow up, even if many people would already put you in the category of “grown up.” If you are considering going back to school, or changing careers, or moving, or starting a family, or doing charity work — it’s all good. And none of it has to be followed up with a longwinded explanation about why it’s a good idea and they should believe in you. If you need to justify what makes you happy to someone in your life, perhaps you should ask yourself why you even care about their opinion in the first place.


I hope this one is self explanatory.

I also hope that you readers take this article into consideration in your own lives. You don’t have to justify your choices to anyone; “because I want to” IS a good enough answer.

Leave a Reply

