Trying not to re-write my Capstone…

I should probably stay off of Facebook… every time I check it, I find myself getting angry and upset over the things people post.

Today’s gem was an argument about the Twilight series. I suppose I was wrong to assume that, once I wrote my capstone, everyone would magically agree with my points.

I have written multiple times (see here and here and here) about the problems with the Fifty Shades of Grey series, which, let’s face it, exhibits very similar problems to the Twilight series.

I’m not going to rehash my Capstone (if you’d like to read the whole 50ish page thing, just let me know), and I’m not going to rewrite the posts above. But I do want to cite some of the points I made about the problems exhibited in the series.

I was seventeen years old when I first read the Twilight series. I devoured the books, wished for my own Edward Cullen, wore t-shirts with Twilight quotes on them, went to the midnight release party for the fourth book… the whole nine yards.

I constantly saw my relationship at the time in terms of Bella and Edward’s relationship. My boyfriend was loving and protective, just like Edward!

Maybe that’s why I didn’t actually see that I was in a somewhat emotionally abusive relationship.

Here’s a news flash, folks: protection does not always equal love.

In my capstone, I researched the signs of an abusive relationship. Bella and Edward embody nearly every single sign on the list. For example, Edward tends to monopolize Bella’s time. He also watches her every move. This is not protection, or love, people; this is being possessive.

The repression of her sexuality (the fact that it’s always Bella making the move) is also a problem.

Again, I am not going to re-hash my whole capstone. It is available if you’d like to peruse it (again, just message me).

What I’m really irritated about right now, however, is that in the Facebook argument, it was insinuated that I “think too much” about these books.

Yes, I spent a semester researching and studying these novels.

But I chose my capstone topic because I was sick of seeing people get into abusive relationships because “he was just like Edward Cullen!”

These books are affecting young readers in many more negative ways than positive. A young woman sees Bella, a seemingly good role model, and tries to emulate her… therefore losing herself to the novels, and often falling prey to an abuser. I’m not saying this is the case all the time, but it’s definitely a prominent problem.

Overall, what I’m trying to say, is that books like these need to be studied. At 22 years old, I am very different than I was at 17. My advice is this: if you’re going to obsess over something in pop culture, at least do some background research. See what people are saying against it. It may open your eyes.

One thought on “Trying not to re-write my Capstone…

  1. i think this is particularly interesting, if only in relation to what books we ban from students. right now, books like marjane satrapi’s “persepolis” are being banned (i don’t think they’re calling it a “banning” but that’s what it is), books that have positive messages or messages that encourage us to question the status quo, why we do what we do, and why it’s important not to just go through life without thinking.

    if anything, we should be banning books like twilight that give people the impression that abusive relationships are desirable, especially when this comes at us from nearly every angle (tv, music, movies, etc). this is partly due to representations of the “feminine” and what females deserve: we’ve made some great strides for women’s rights, but there’s still this fog of patriarchal paradigms that project women as mentally, physically, and emotionally “weaker than.”

    to the person who said you “think too much,” i’d have said that you’re doing this for social reasons, that it goes outside the book and relates to every woman everywhere. if they don’t get that, then maybe they should think a little more.

Leave a Reply

