My phone interview.

I finished my phone interview about fifteen minutes ago, and I can’t stop thinking about it (in a good way!).

Compared to my first Disney Internships phone interview back in February, I definitely felt more confident and prepared. I think starting school really helped improve my confidence, because I know more about the fields for which I’m applying.

Overall, it was very positive. Will, the interviewer, called me at exactly 11 AM, and we spoke until about 11:20. First, he explained to me that, while my dashboard shows that the interview was only for one position, I would actually be interviewing for all of the positions for which I applied. The questions were similar to what I expected. He asked me why I’m interested in working for Disney; I explained that Disney has always created magic in my life, and now I want to be a part of creating that magic. He then asked me about my work experience and how my jobs relate to the positions for which I applied. I went through my last three jobs — the Tribune, the Writing Center, and the HOPE Center — and explained how these jobs qualified me to work in the Disney communications field.

Will asked me about a big project I took on. I told him that I created a semester overview newsletter for the HOPE Center (which just so happens to be one of my the projects I’m most proud of). He then asked how I handle being busy; luckily my time management skills and organizational skills help me in that regard. Then he asked how I have handled difficult clients. The Writing Center was often full of difficult clients, but I explained that putting on a smile and dealing with them in a kind way was the most important (though, admittedly, not the easiest thing to do).

We then discussed the Disney look — he didn’t seem thrown by my tattoos, especially because I immediately explained that they can be covered.

I feel extremely confident in my responses. One of the things I need to remember about phone interviews is that they WANT to hear about me and my accomplishments. They WANT to know about me. I’m not the type of person who wants to talk myself up, but I think I did a good job of sounding confident and not cocky.

So, we’ll hope for the best. I will hear back by November 25th at the latest, which seems like FOREVER away, but I think that having grad school going on will really help the time go fast. I’ll have a lot more to focus on this time. I’m excited to see where this leads, and I hope I showed Will and the entire team that I really, really want this experience. 🙂

EDIT: I forgot!!! Will also asked me what I think makes a good leader. I told him that I believe a good leader is someone who is approachable, easy to talk to, and receptive. I also explained that a leader is someone who communicates with the team. So. I thought that was a pretty good one.

Leave a Reply

