An Interesting Update

So I’ve been on the DCP high for the past ten days. I’ve found my roommates and started planning everything I need to do.

I’m still in consideration for two Disney Professional Internships, a fact I’ve kind of set on the back burner because I’ve been so excited about the DCP. One of the internships is the Disney Institute Content Design internship, which involves designing materials for the Disney Institute, Disney’s business development center. The other is the Sales and Travel Operations Public Relations Internship, which involves the social media and PR end of the parks (incredibly related to what I want to do in the future).

Today, I got a phone call from the Disney Institute asking me to schedule a phone interview to discuss my background and the position. I scheduled it for Monday.

I’m excited and grateful for the opportunity. But I’ve gotten myself so excited about the DCP that I haven’t been thinking about the internships at all. I’m also worried that, if offered a position, my program dates will change and I won’t be down there February to August as planned. And I was really starting to get excited about the guest interaction I’ll have in the DCP, something I may not necessarily get working backstage.

I don’t know why I’m thinking about the negatives. I should be completely elated. But there’s something keeping me mellowed out.

I’ll post again on Monday after my interview.

[EDIT]: I think Devon hit the nail on the head in the comments. This may be my only chance to work in the parks. I think that’s why I’m so conflicted. My dream has always been to work for Disney. One aspect of that is that I’ve always wanted to work in the parks. I don’t know. I may be worrying for nothing. We’ll see…

3 thoughts on “An Interesting Update

  1. I totally understand your sentiments. I’ve been accepted to the DCP and received a drop down for Guest Relations, but I’m also waiting to hear back about SATO and Disney Institute Content Design. I’ve been thinking I’d rather be in the parks, interacting with guests. It seems counter-intuitive considering my degree, but I want GR so much more than PR and DI!

      • The way I see it, I have my entire life to apply to work backstage and make magic that way. I only get the chance to play all day while I’m still a baby Disney squirrel!

Leave a Reply

