January 1, 2014

Hello, 2014.

Nice to see you.

I rang in 2014 with my cat (who is not doing all that well). I don’t want to go into detail, but if the meds she’s on don’t work, we may not have her much longer. Anyway, falling asleep with her purring at my side was the best way to spend the night.

I’ve heard a lot of people say that 2013 was a crap year. For me, it was actually really good. I moved back home after finishing my undergrad. I basically had no idea what I was going to do, but I started working regularly at the Tribune and took it from there. After a trip to Walt Disney World in January, I made the decision to start applying to work there. I have always said that working at Disney World is my dream, but I finally took action to live my dream. After multiple rejections in March and April, I spent the summer waiting for fall apps to come out, and was accepted to the Disney College Program in October.

I also had some amazing trips with my family — Boston in February, Montauk in April, Seaside Park and California in August… It was a great year for trips! And I’ve loved seeing my boyfriend start his “big kid” job and really flourish; plus he lives in Lancaster, which I love.

And, of course, I started grad school. I had no idea what I was getting myself into, but overall it was a good semester. I learned a LOT, and I’m looking forward to learning more, especially after my DCP.

Now as we start 2014, things are changing. I’m moving to Orlando in February, which is crazy to me. Even though I lived away from home for four years, I was only three hours away and could come home easily. Now I’ll be away for seven months and I probably won’t be home at all until August. I’m looking forward to family and friends coming to visit.

Here’s to making 2014 one of the best years ever. Here’s to living my dream at Walt Disney World. 🙂

Leave a Reply

