Deciding when to leave.

I’ve been dreading this announcement ever since I got here in February.

Today on the Hub appeared a notice saying that extension applications will be accepted from June 9 to June 17.

I have known since the start that I would not be extending my program. For one, I want to go home and finish school. I also have too many people at home that I miss dearly. But there’s still this little twinge inside of me telling me to extend. To stay here until January.

But I can’t. And I won’t. As much as I love it here, I need to be back in Jersey. Last night, as one of my friends talked to our manager about applying for full time, I blurted out that I wanted to go seasonal. My manager told me that I just need to keep up the good work for the next two months and I would be a good candidate for seasonal.

So, okay. I won’t be living here full time anymore. I won’t be five minutes from the Disney parks anymore. But I’ll still be able to come down and work at Cirque and DisneyQuest. Seasonal is the best option for me right now.

I think this post is just a way of me finally justifying to myself that, as much as I want to stay, I can’t. I’m just getting everything out there so that I can use this post as a reminder to NOT apply for an extension. And now, I’m going to go spend the next two months living my dreams.

Leave a Reply

