Taking a few minutes to talk about “Jersey Boys.”

20140625-094639.jpg

When I first saw the trailer for “Jersey Boys,” I was with my roommate seeing “The Other Woman.” As soon as I heard the opening notes, I started squealing and flailing in my seat. I had no prior knowledge of them making a movie version of one of my favorite Broadway musicals, and I was blown away by the trailer alone.

Fast foward two months of me listening to the soundtrack and watching the trailers over and over again, waiting for the movie to come out. I finally got the chance to see it on Monday, and I was not disappointed.

The film opened similarly to the musical, but went more in-depth with the scenes that happen throughout the opening of the show (the discovery of Frankie, the robbery, the church scene, etc.). It was well-paced, but it also felt thrown together, like they were trying to elongate the montage that the show gives its audience. The continuity also felt a little weird, but I think that’s because I’m used to the order of the show.

But as soon as Joe Pesci brought in Bob Gaudio, I was completely satisfied. I’ve had the pleasure of interacting with Erich Bergen on Twitter, and I was looking forward to seeing him play Gaudio. When he sang “Cry,” I was hooked (on both him and the combination of the group members).

From there, the movie was paced exactly right with the events that happened. I could physically feel the tension and exhaustion that the Four Seasons were feeling. I could feel the split between them. It was all very well done. I think the movie was near perfect when it came to casting. I’m glad they used Broadway and relatively unknown actors for the main roles.

I won’t give away the ending, but for those of you who have seen the show, yes, they do end with “Rag Doll” and “Who Loves You.” And just like during the show, I got super choked up at the ending. But it’s absolutely perfect how they do it. Definitely see it for yourselves.

POTENTIAL SPOILERS BELOW:

The only gripe that I had (and there really was only one), was the way they handled the Bob Gaudio losing his virginity scene. It wasn’t poorly done or anything. It’s just that they looped it in with “Walk Like a Man.” Now, if you’ve seen the show, you know that that scene is how they introduce “December 1963 (Oh What a Night)” … but the film decided to go with “Walk Like a Man.” It worked. But for me, as a big fan of the show, I was really looking forward to that part and how they incorporate “Oh What a Night.” And it didn’t happen. However, there were other parts where the music was PERFECT — such as Frankie singing “My Eyes Adored You” as a bedtime song for Francine. Beautiful.

Oh, and the other weird thing… did anyone else notice that some of the background music was ripped right from the Broadway soundtrack? Because I’m 99% sure that happened.

Seriously though, it’s an awesome movie and I can’t wait to see both the movie and the show again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

