It’s probably time for a blog post.

So… um… yeah. It’s been a while. And a lot has happened in the past couple of months.

One of the last times I wrote, I was having a hard time with the fact that I was leaving Florida. Well, August finally came, and I said “see ya real soon” to my life down in Disney. I’m back in New Jersey, fairly settled in, and ready to start school next week.

A few things of note happened during my last month in Florida. The biggest thing that happened is that I made the decision not to go seasonal and stay with the company. At first it was a tough decision to make, because I really wanted to keep my proficiencies at Cirque and DisneyQuest, but now I realize that I have definitely made the right decision for myself. Right before my program ended, Disney changed the rules for cast members who wanted to go seasonal. It used to be that if a CP wanted to go seasonal, all they’d have to do is talk to their leader, and their leader could set their status to seasonal (if their record card was good and all of that). Now, however, CPs have to take a 13 week break in service before applying for a seasonal role, and there has to be a “need” for a seasonal cast member in that area. I know way too many people who got screwed over by this rule change, and as much as I love my location and miss working, right now I want to focus on my degree and not stress over getting my hours done.

The last month of my program wasn’t actually as difficult as I thought it would be. I was fortunate to have some truly amazing people by my side to help me through it all. Scheduling was awesome and gave me two DisneyQuest shifts and two Cirque shifts for my last week. My last shift at DisneyQuest came on August 4th, and was fairly uneventful. However, I spoke with two of my leaders who both had really, really nice things to say about my work ethic and general attitude. My last Cirque shift was on August 6th, and I only teared up a couple of times during the show. I also got to take a few pictures with performers, which was fun! The night after, I got to see Cirque one last time as a guest. I miss it immensely, but I get to go see it again in November when I visit Orlando with my family. (Also, I’m going to see Cirque Varekai tonight, which is going to be awesome!)

One question I keep getting asked is “what next?” in regards to Disney. I do fully intend to pursue a future career with the Walt Disney Company. During my last semester of school, I’m going to apply for professional internships (and probably another CP, though I don’t know if it could ever top my first one). If PIs don’t work out, I may just go all out and head down to Orlando with a suitcase and a dream, go to casting, and beg for a job. I don’t know; I want things to be more planned out, but for now I’m content just saying “yes, I will work for Disney again.”

So yeah, I’m back home in Whippany. At first it was weird for a couple of reasons; first of all, it felt like I never left. Second, all of my winter clothes were still in my closet. But now that I’m getting settled back in, everything feels more comfortable. I’m getting back into the routine of work and school, but now I’m working toward even more of a “routine” than what I had before I left. I’m working in daily exercise as well. I’m binge watching Doctor Who at night. I’m catching up with family and friends. I saw my sister off to school this morning, and will be driving my brother down to school on Sunday. Pretty soon we’ll be planning holidays. And to top it all off, I’m taking a trip to Orlando in November with my mom and grandma. Things feel good right now, although my heart gets tugged every time I see DCP or DPI application posts on social media.

To sum this all up… the Disney College Program is literally one of the best things I have ever done for myself. I had the absolute time of my life on my program. I’m planning on doing a series of short vlogs talking about my experiences, so I’ll try and post links to those here as well. 🙂

I guess that’s all for now; I’m supposed to be working on paperwork for my dad’s truck club and I should probably get to it. Thanks, as always, for reading!

Leave a Reply

