Why I’m still talking about my Disney College Program

I realized this morning that TimeHop may not be the best app for me.

One year ago around this time, I was getting ready to go on my DCP. So I’m guessing that for the next month or so, there will be something about DCP prep in my TimeHop every day. And then once February comes, reading my TimeHop is going to lead to all sorts of Disney feels, as I’ll be seeing posts from my CP.

And while I’ve been wrestling with deleting the app for a while, I do love reading about what I was doing two years ago (graduating college), three years ago, and so on.

I’ve also realized that most of the TimeHop posts that I share on Facebook and Twitter are DCP related. It’s interesting to see my thought process before leaving for my CP, especially knowing everything that I know now.

So why am I still talking about the Disney College Program?

Why am I posting #tbt photos and TimeHop updates about my CP?

It was only six months of my life, right?

I’m still talking about my Disney College Program experience because it was, quite possibly, the best six months of my life. Yes, it was some of the hardest work I’ve ever done — it was long hours and late nights. But it was still one of the best experiences I’ve ever had.

I’m still talking about my DCP because it shaped my life and my future, and I can’t wait to return to Walt Disney World, hopefully as a Cast Member.

I’m still posting about my DCP because it affected me. I love reliving as many memories of my time in Florida as I can. TimeHop is a way to do that. Going through my photos is a way to do that.

I have six amazing months of memories. And even though my program ended in August, the memories are still affecting me, and will probably affect me until I get the opportunity to go back (right now it’s looking like summer 2016).

Since I still have a year and a half before I can go back to Disney to work (hopefully they’ll hire me), I’m basically holding onto whatever I can. I’m hanging onto the memories of my CP to keep me motivated. I’m remembering how much I loved working there — it really was more about work, not play, for me. I’m planning multiple trips to WDW to keep the magic alive for me (but I know I’m meant to be a Cast Member and not just a guest because I’m craving the opportunity to work there).

So for now, I’ll be using TimeHop to remind me exactly what I was thinking through every single social media post from my CP. And I’ll be sharing some of those posts on Facebook and Twitter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

