2014, it’s been great.

It’s interesting reading my January 1, 2013 post and seeing where I was a year ago.

To start, last NYE I spent the night at home with my cat, who was incredibly sick. We didn’t know if she’d make it through the night, or through the next week, or through the following month. But one year later, she’s as healthy as a 15 year old cat can be, and has slept on my pillow every night since I came home from Florida.

To say that 2014 was an amazing year is almost an understatement. I had some of the best experiences of my life this year, experiences which have shaped my future.

One night in mid-October 2013, I was driving home from school and wished on a meteor to be accepted to the Disney College Program. My wish was granted the next day, and I became a College Program cast member at the Walt Disney World Resort.

I moved to Florida in February, an experience that both terrified and excited me. February 3 through August 8 had many, many ups and downs, but I couldn’t have asked for a better CP experience.

When I found out that I would be working at Downtown Disney and not in any of the parks, I was initially disappointed, but DTD Westside turned out to be the best location I could have ever gotten. My time at Cirque du Soleil La Nouba and DisneyQuest is something I will cherish for the rest of my life.

I spent my 24th birthday doing “Four Parks (+DTD), One Day,” which was truly an adventure. For the first time in my life, I wore a birthday button in the parks (I’m pretty sure this is something that everyone should experience, if possible, at least once).

Throughout my CP, I met some of the most amazing, incredible people in the world. These people ranged from my roommates to my coworkers, and from friends I met online to friends I’d known for years and bonded with during the CP. I met amazing guests and I met terrible guests. I met wonderful leaders and higher ups within the Walt Disney World Resort, cast members who have shaped and inspired my dreams. Walt Disney once said, “You can design and create, and build the most wonderful place in the world. But it takes people to make the dream a reality.” Throughout my CP, I met so many people who have inspired me to make my dream a reality in the coming years.

2014 wasn’t all fun and games, though. Between family hardships due to illness, school disappointments, and ending a three-year long relationship, I’ve also had some of my saddest moments during this year. However, each experience made me a stronger person, and I think I’m finally learning what I really want for myself.

Leaving Florida in August was a difficult decision; it took a lot for me not to extend my CP. (However, my school kind of made that decision for me, telling me I could only take off one semester during my master’s program.) In the fall of 2014, I completed my second semester of my master’s degree. I have three semesters left, and will be working hard to complete my degree in 2016. And after that? Well, I’ll be applying for jobs at Walt Disney World, of course!

So where will 2015 take me? Well, it’s starting off amazing; I’m going to Disney World for a two week vacation! I’ll start my third semester of grad school on January 20, taking a full semester of classes. By the end of 2015, I will be one class and a comprehensive exam away from my master’s degree. I also have a March Disney trip planned (sort of for my 25th birthday — by the way, I’m turning 25. Wow), and hopefully I’ll be able to make the most of my AP and get down to WDW for Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party in November. I’ll also get to spend two weeks in Seaside with my family, a tradition that I had to miss in 2014 because I was still in Florida. So 2015 has a lot of fun stuff coming!

I can almost never stick to the resolutions I make, but I’ve made a few that I think will be attainable in 2015:

Read more. I have so many shelves full of books to read, and I want to get through as many as possible this year.

Take care of myself. This kind of goes with exercising, but every time I set exercise goals I don’t keep them. So. My goal for 2015 is to do a better job of taking care of myself. Okay.

Downsize my life. If I plan to move to Florida in 2016, I should probably go through the 10 years worth of stuff that has accumulated in my room. (I actually already started this and donated 3 bags of clothes and 2 bags of toys to my elementary school!)

Purge social media. This has been a long time coming. I need to clean up my friends lists, following list, and photos. So that will be happening over the course of the year.

I think these goals are fairly simple, and I’m looking forward to how reaching these goals will better my life in 2015.

So that’s that. Thanks for reading my blog for another year (though the posts have been sparse…), and I wish you all the best for 2015. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

