Opportunities, etc.

Today, applications opened for a Walt Disney World alumni only summer program. Essentially, it’s the same as a regular CP, except it’s from May 26-August 13. As I had a few friends applying, I tracked the app drop and even jumped on the website to check out the specifications.

I didn’t expect to feel a little pang of sadness when I opened up the familiar Disney Careers page.

I have known about this summer alumni program for a few days, and I knew from the start that I couldn’t apply. Chances are I’ll be taking a summer course at MSU to get one of my electives done so I don’t have to scramble for them in the fall. I’m still on track to graduate in May 2016, and I don’t want to mess that up. Plus, there’s a lot going on in my family right now, and that comes first. No matter what.

I always get a little sad when the Disney recruiting application periods start up. It took me two semesters to get an acceptance, and while in progress, I refreshed the pages at an embarrassing rate. I checked my email every 30 seconds or so, even though I had my emails set to “push” on my iPad. For the better part of a year I got used to the application process being a part of my daily life.

Timehop is bringing a lot of those memories back. It’s so interesting to see that, one year ago today I was starting my CP, but two years ago today I was starting my application process for the first time. And one year from now, I’ll be starting the application process again, hopefully for a future with the Walt Disney Company. I’ll be checking my email every 30 seconds, refreshing the dashboard even more often, and hoping and praying that my dreams will come true.

Today I took the initiative to email Walt Disney World Parks & Resorts casting to double check that the plan that I have set in place for applying to the company is something that’s actually feasible. Better safe than sorry, right? Over the next year I’m going to be working to make myself the best version of me that I can. To make myself as marketable as possible so I can hopefully get offered a job within my dream company.

Although I still have a year to go, that year is going to bring new challenges, new experiences, and new opportunities. This semester alone is shaping exactly what I want to do for a career — I am considering focusing highly on crisis communication in the Public Relations field.

I am excited about where the next year will take me, and I hope that on February 9, 2016, I can look back on this blog post and say, “hey, I’m still on the right track.”

Leave a Reply

