A Quick Trip Recap: WDW (October 22-28)

Six days at Walt Disney World will do things to you.

In my last post, I was lamenting the fact that I never lived in New York City. I also said that I hoped my upcoming WDW trip would spark my dreams again, and oh, it did.

This trip was a couple of “lasts” for me — it was my last trip as a 2014-2015 WDW Annual Passholder, and it was my last trip before I pick up my life and move to Florida to pursue my dreams of working at Disney World. But it was also a trip of “firsts” — it was the first time my mom and I had a vacation, just the two of us. It was also our first trip since my grandma died. 

I knew that there would be a lot of “oh, Bunny LOVED this” on our trip. What I didn’t anticipate was the feeling of complete calm (no sadness) when I thought of her in the parks. Though there were things in the parks that she never got to experience, she did experience so much on our previous trips. And I truly believe she was with us every step of the way, smiling because she knew I was in my happy place, and smiling even more because she knew my mom was getting a much needed break.

Our trip was practically perfect in every way. Mom and I experienced some new-to-us things, like dinner at California Grill (that view is incomparable); the Epcot Food & Wine festival; and Magic Kingdom in the fall. Though I had a brief trip to WDW last October, it was nice to spend a full six days immersed in the fall atmosphere, even if it was 90 degrees nearly every day!

I also got to see my mom experience some new-to-her things, like Be Our Guest, which she adored. She also somehow had never experienced a fully rainy day in Florida, and we ended up with a day and a half of rain. But a little rain didn’t bother us; we donned our ponchos and ate our way around the world in Epcot anyway.

I have said for years that WDW is truly full of magic, and I experienced so much of it on this trip. When it poured during our two last days in the park, I came to terms with the fact that I wouldn’t be seeing Festival of Fantasy, my favorite daytime parade. However, on our very last day, right before we had to leave to get on the bus, the clouds disappeared, the sun came out, and we got a parade. That little bit of Disney magic was the perfect way to end our trip.

I also saw some of the most incredible cast members. While many of them are my friends (and therefore I’m a little biased), I met others and made new friends, and having conversations with each and every one of them reminded me of exactly why I want to be a Disney cast member again. So thank you to all the wonderful CMs who made our trip spectacular. 

Applications for the Disney College Program (and I’m assuming Professional Internships) for Fall 2016 will drop in February. While that’s only a couple of months away, and I have a LOT to do before I apply, this trip has made me so excited to pursue my dreams again. 

I’ve got the drive. I’ve got the passion. Now I just need to get the job. 🙂

See you real soon, WDW… hopefully as a Cast Member!

 

Leave a Reply

