Getting Out Of My Comfort Zone

I’ve been doing a lot to push myself out of my comfort zone lately.

As someone who has lived with generalized anxiety for quite some time, things that may seem super easy for most people are difficult for me, especially pertaining to social situations. It’s very hard for me to walk into a new place alone, but I’ve been doing it almost weekly, thanks to my best friend Lauren choosing a new restaurant every week for our weekly Best Friend date. As nerve-wracking as it is for me, I know (and I think she knows) that it’s good for me to get pushed out of my comfort zone every so often.

I’ve also been pushing myself way out of my comfort zone with my exercise routine. Wednesday marked a solid week of every day exercise, and while the past two days have been a little rough, I’ve pushed myself to run up to 10 minutes of a 30 minute workout, and I’m feeling better than I have in a long time (despite the minor protest from my knees). Considering that a few weeks ago I didn’t think I could run, and now I’m running 10 minutes, I think it’s safe to say my comfort zone is shifting. And this positive change is feeling great.

A couple of weeks ago in this space, I wrote about the struggle I’m having with Disney Internship applications. I’m still waiting to hear back about the DCP (*fingers crossed for next week*), but I’ve also been procrastinating Professional Internship applications because I’m not sure of where exactly I want to be in the company yet. However, today, I took a leap and applied for a Guest Relations PI.

When I first got hired to work at Disney World, in October of 2013, I had many ideas of what I wanted to get a better understanding of in order to prepare for a potential future with the company. One of those things was Guest Relations. I always admired those in plaid, who help guests with a wide variety of situations every day. I was very excited when I found out that one of my roles, ticketing at DisneyQuest, was in the same office as Downtown Disney Westside Guest Relations. Over my seven months at Disney, I learned so much from the Guest Relations cast members, to the point where one of them deemed that I was an “honorary plaid.” However, one thing I also learned after watching difficult situation after difficult situation is that I’m probably not cut out for Guest Relations, and I gave up on that idea.

But why did I think that I wasn’t cut out for a GR position? Because it could get difficult? Any job could get difficult. Because guests can be mean? Guests were mean to me in my other roles, too. What it boiled down to is that my anxiety convinced me that I couldn’t handle the role. 

So when I was looking for Professional Internships that are guest-facing, and I came across the GR PI, I spent a good amount of time convincing myself that I’m not cut out for it. 

But then I remembered something that one of my leaders told me on my last day as a CP — he said that, no matter the situation, anytime he saw me speaking with or assisting a guest, he could tell that I truly cared about providing the highest level of service. It reminded me of all the times I kept my cool in difficult situations. And it reminded me of how much I truly loved helping Disney’s guests. 

I don’t know how likely it is that I’ll get this internship, but regardless of what happens this time around, I want to keep Guest Relations in mind for the future. It could work out, and it could not. But I’ll never know unless I try, and I need to push myself out of my comfort zone and this type of role would be a great way to make that happen.

What I’m learning, from running and otherwise, is that I’m capable of so much more than I ever imagined. I’m stronger, physically and mentally, than I realized. Regardless of where I end up with Disney, I’m going to do what I can to get out of my comfort zone and defeat my anxieties one at a time. And it started today, as I applied for an internship that, for all intents and purposes, scares the crap out of me.

Just like running, it’s one step at a time, right?

One thought on “Getting Out Of My Comfort Zone

Leave a Reply

