December 31, 2016.

It’s the end of another year.

I’m reading blog posts from December 31sts past, and to be honest, I don’t have a whole lot to say right now. I’m sitting here drinking 16 ounces of coffee in preparation for my 11 hour NYE shift tonight at my dream job, where I’ve been for about half of this year. The waiting game (which feels like forever ago but was really only about eight months or so ago)  was hard. Really hard. But it paid off. I love my job and I couldn’t imagine being anywhere else right now.

I’m ringing in 2017 with the knowledge that I get to stay with this dream job until June. I’m not sure where life will take me after that, but I hope I get to stay in close proximity to where I am now.

I usually spend these NYE recaps write big paragraphs about things that happened over the course of the year. But I’m shifting this blog a little bit, content wise, and I think I kind of want to just leave this short and sweet.

2016 is the year I got my dream job, a job I never thought I could handle, and yet it’s turned out to be one of the best experiences of my life.

2016 brought me immeasurable happiness, but also at times immense sadness. Pools of sorrow, waves of joy.

2016 pushed me far beyond my comfort zone so many times. It brought me to a new state, far from home, far from the lifestyle I’d gotten used to. And I’m so happy to be where I am.

For all of the years I’ve been “working on myself,” 2016 is the year I learned the most about what I can handle, what I want moving forward, and what I need to do for myself.

While 2016 has taken so much from humanity as a whole, through great tragedies and injustices, it’s also been a year of beautiful things. I implore you to find that beauty in your own life.

In summary, 2016 was a rollercoaster. Highs and lows, ups and downs. And here we are at the end of it. 

Who knows if 2017 is going to be better? We don’t know. The internet keeps yelling about how 2016 was the worst, with all it took from us. We have no idea if 2017 will be the change we need.

 But in my mind, here’s what 2017 is bringing as it comes in:


Hope.”

And at this point, I think that’s all we can ask for.

For everyone celebrating the end of 2016: Please be safe, be kind to those around you, and take care of yourself. No matter how you’re celebrating.

Happy New Year, everyone. See you in 2017. 🙂

Leave a Reply

